Unlucky bounces are part of hockey, but sometimes a bounce that leads directly is so unlucky that the goal actually doesn't end up counting.

Tuesday night, we saw an example of this in St. Louis when a shot from Robert Bortuzzo of the Blues hit referee Tim Peel below the belt and went into the net.

According to the NHL's rules, a goal will be disallowed if it goes directly into the net off of an official and that's exactly what happened here.


Embedded Image

Peel was in a considerable amount of pain after taking the shot to the midsection, which is completely understandable.


Thankfully Peel was able to return to the game and luckily for the Blues, that no-goal wasn't the difference in the game as they beat the Panthers 4-3.

(H/T: Twitter)