The World Junior Hockey Championship is one of the best times of the year. We get the opportunity to watch some of the best young talent from around the world play hockey on a daily basis and they always make it entertaining.

Another World Junior Hockey Championship concludes on Thursday night in Montreal with Team Canada and USA set to battle for the gold medal, so we take a look back at the best rosters to represent each country in the tournament.  

Embedded Image
Yuri Kuzmina/AFP/Getty Images

USA has won the gold medal at the World Juniors three times, with the latest one coming back at the 2013 tournament in Russia. Despite finishing with just six points through four preliminary games, the Americans looked like a different team in the elimination rounds as they went on to beat Czech Republic 7-0, Canada 5-1 and Sweden 3-1 in the gold medal game.  

The team had 13 players who are now playing in the NHL on a nightly basis, and it’s a pretty impressive list.


Cole Bardreau

Riley Barber

Tyler Biggs

Alex Galchenyuk

Johnny Gaudreau

Rocco Grimaldi

Ryan Hartman

Sean Kuraly

Mario Lucia

J.T. Miller

Blake Pietila

Vincent Trocheck

Jimmy Vesey


Shayne Gostisbehere

Seth Jones

Jake McCabe

Connor Murphy

Mike Reilly

Patrick Sieloff

Jacob Trouba



John Gibson

Jon Gillies

Garret Sparks

Embedded Image
Yuri Kuzmina/AFP/Getty Images

For Team Canada we head back to the 2005 tournament in North Dakota. Just about every player on this roster had NHL experience at one point or another, and many of them have stolen the show on a nightly basis for their respective NHL squads.



Patrice Bergeron

Jeff Carter

Jeremy Colliton

Sidney Crosby

Nigel Dawes

Stephen Dixon

Colin Fraser

Ryan Getzlaf

Andrew Ladd

Clarke MacArthur

Corey Perry

Mike Richards

Anthony Stewart


Cam Barker

Shawn Belle

Braydon Coburn

Dion Phaneuf

Brent Seabrook

Danny Syvret

Shea Weber


Rejean Beauchemin

Jeff Glass

Embedded Image
Dave Sandford/Getty Images

Both the Canadian and American squads at this year’s tournament are certainly some of the best groups to represent their country in the history of the tournament, but only time will tell who will come out on top as this year’s champion.